BOARD MINUTES

May 21, 2025

A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees for Shepherd School District #37 was held Wednesday, May 21, 2025 in the Board Room of the New Addition. Chairman, Carl Openshaw, called the meeting to order at 6:30pm.

Pledge of allegiance was recited.

Members present: Shane Flowers, Julie Hinkle, Carl Openshaw, Justin Peterson, Shane Rekdal, Austin Schlosser, and Shayne Vandivort.

Members excused: None.

Superintendent – Drea O'Donnell, Clerk – Kinsey Szillat, Elementary Principal – Autumn Arlian, Middle School Principal – Rich Hash, High School Principal – KJ Poepping, AD – Tina Downing, and Transportation Director – Bobby Trotter were present for the entire meeting.

CONSENT AGENDA

An Elementary motion was made by Julie Hinkle, seconded by Shane Rekdal, to approve the Elementary business claims and accounts, to include April claims 133976 – 134046.

A High School/Joint motion was made by Shayne Vandivort, seconded by Julie Hinkle, to approve the High School business claims and accounts, to include April claims 133976 – 134046, and the approval of the April regular meeting and April special meeting minutes.

Both motions passed unanimously.

HEARING OF THE PUBLIC

None.

ANNUAL ORGANIZATION OF BOARD

At 6:35pm, the Board Chair turned the meeting over to the Superintendent for reorganization. Mrs. O'Donnell swore in Julie Hinkle and Austin Schlosser for a 3-year term. Both were elected in the May election. Mrs. O'Donnell also swore in Justin Peterson for another 3-year term, elected by acclamation.

Julie Hinkle nominated Carl Openshaw as Board Chair and Shayne Vandivort seconded the nomination. No other nominations were voiced. Carl Openshaw was unanimously elected Board Chair for the 2025-2026 school year. He then took over the Board meeting and called for nominations for Vice Chair.

Shane Rekdal nominated Julie Hinkle as Vice Chair and Shane Flowers seconded the nomination. No other nominations were voiced. Julie Hinkle was unanimously elected Vice Chair for the 2025-2026 school year.

Justin Peterson nominated the appointment of Kinsey Szillat as District Clerk, Shane Rekdal seconded it. Kinsey Szillat was unanimously appointed as District Clerk for the 2025-2026 school year.

<u>ADMINISTRATION</u>

The administrators recapped their reports.

INFORMATIONAL

- 1. Building Use Requests
- 2. Missing Children
- 3. Water Report
- 4. Resignations:

Jodie Kuzo – High School Secretary

Taylor Cunningham-Jeuschede – Middle School Girls Basketball Coach

Taylor Cunningham-Jeuschede – High School Girls Assistant Basketball Coach

Tonya Allen – High School Paraprofessional

Danielle Zaparynuk - Middle School Teacher

Karina Kuzo – Middle School Paraprofessional

- 5. Nurse's Report
- 6. Imagine Learning Award

Shepherd Elementary was selected as a 2024-2025 School of Excellence for its use of Imagine MyPath. This award represents the highest distinction in the Imagine Nation customer recognition program.

- 7. Healthy Is Wellness
- 8. Milligan Data
- 9. Shepherd Budget Information

OLD BUSINESS

None.

NEW BUSINESS

Human Resources

Summer Maintenance Crew Cindy Sieler Donabelle Watanabe Megan Logan (part time) Heather Ekness (part time) Theo Zabel Chris Anders

Elementary

Paige Atkinson – Lunch Accountant

High School

Kylee Billingsley – High School Ag Teacher Vici Duran – High School Secretary

Athletics

Amanda Camposan – Assistant Cross Country Coach

Transportation

Debora Cossitt

Judy Parra

Jerry Williams

Summer Nelson

Denise Bacon

Wayne Butler

Melissa Tuengel

Ron Schwindt

Pamela Bennett-Brumlow

An Elementary motion was made by Julie Hinkle, seconded by Shane Rekdal, to approve hiring the elementary and middle school staff as listed.

A High School/Joint motion was made by Shane Rekdal, seconded by Justin Peterson, to approve the high school and transportation staff.

Both motions passed unanimously.

Re-appoint Superintendent as Authorized District Representative

Each year the school has to appoint an Authorized District Representative. The appointee is usually the School's Superintendent.

A High School/Joint motion was made by Shane Flowers, seconded by Julie Hinkle, to appoint the Superintendent as the Authorized District Representative for the 2025-2026 school year.

The motion passed unanimously.

AD Discussion

The Board Chair began the AD Discussion asking for input and ideas on how to attract more applicants for the open AD position. Maxwell Kent, a Middle School teacher, was

present in the audience and suggested splitting the position into three jobs based on season. Dancia Greenfield, an Elementary Teacher, who was also present in the audience referenced how Colstrip splits their AD position into two, one for Middle School and another for High School. The salary for the AD position was also discussed. The possibility of \$4,000.00 per season, if the position was split by season, was discussed, however nothing was definitively decided. No action was taken and the Board would like to discuss options again next month.

Propane Bid

The Board was presented with two propane bids for the 2025-2026 school year.

A High School/Joint motion was made by Julie Hinkle, seconded by Shayne Vandivort, to approve the propane bid from Valley Farmers Supply for the 2025-2026 school year.

The motion passed unanimously.

Approve County Running Elections for 2025-2026

A High School/Joint motion was made by Justin Peterson, seconded by Shane Rekdal, to approve Yellowstone County running all school elections for the 2025-2026 school year.

The motion passed unanimously.

YBGR Contract for CSCT

A High School/Joint motion was made by Shane Flowers, seconded by Julie Hinkle, to approve continuing the contract with Yellowstone Boys and Girls Ranch CSCT program for 2025-2026.

The motion passed unanimously.

MHSA Dues, Concussion & Catastrophic Insurance

It was recommended to approve the MHSA Dues and the Concussion & Catastrophic Insurance for the 2025-2026 school year. This is done annually so the High School can participate in sports.

A High School motion was made by Julie Hinkle, seconded by Justin Peterson, to approve the MHSA Dues, Concussion and Catastrophic Insurance for 2025-2026.

The motion passed unanimously.

Athletic Medicine and Performance (AMP) Contract

A High School motion was made by Shayne Vandivort, seconded by Shane Flowers, to approve the contract with Athletic Medicine and Performance (AMP) for the 2025-2026 school year.

The motion passed unanimously.

MTSBA Dues, Trustee Insurance

A High School/Joint motion was made by Shane Flowers, seconded by Justin Peterson, to approve the MTSBA Dues and Trustee Insurance for 2025-2026.

The motion passed unanimously.

K-8 Math Curriculum Purchase

A High School/Joint motion was made by Justin Peterson, seconded by Shane Rekdal, to approve the purchase of the additional math programs form Go Math/Into Math with the use of Elementary SRSA funds.

The motion passed unanimously.

Staff Computers

A High School/Joint motion was made by Shane Rekdal, seconded by Julie Hinkle, to approve the purchase of 20 staff computers from Bluum, Inc. using the Technology Fund.

The motion passed unanimously.

<u>Milligan School Data – Parent Surveys</u>

Mrs. O'Donnell presented the survey results from the parent surveys sent out in April.

No action.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

- Policy Committee Austin Schlosser was added to the Policy Committee.
- Facilities Committee Carl Openshaw was removed from the Facilities Committee.
- Insurance Committee Austin Schlosser was added to the Insurance Committee.
- Activities Committee Carl Opensaw was added to the Activities Committee.
- Safety Committee Austin Schlosser was added to the Safety Committee.
- CTE Committee Justin Peterson was added to the CTE Committee and Shayne Vandivort was removed from the CTE Committee.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

None

ANNOUNCEMENTS

None

ADJOURNMENT

Time of adjournment: 8:07pm.