BOARD MINUTES April 9, 2025

A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees for Shepherd School District #37 was held Wednesday, April 9, 2025 in the Board Room of the New Addition. Chairman, Carl Openshaw, called the meeting to order at 6:30pm.

Pledge of allegiance was recited.

Members present: Jeff Branson, Shane Flowers, Julie Hinkle, Carl Openshaw, Justin Peterson, Shane Rekdal, and Shayne Vandivort.

Members excused: None.

Superintendent – Drea O'Donnell, Clerk – Kinsey Szillat, Elementary Principal – Autumn Arlian, Middle School Principal – Rich Hash, High School Principal – KJ Poepping, AD – Tina Downing, and Transportation Director – Bobby Trotter were present for the entire meeting.

CONSENT AGENDA

An Elementary motion was made by Julie Hinkle, seconded by Shane Rekdal, to approve the Elementary business claims and accounts, to include March claims 133925 – 133981.

A High School/Joint motion was made by Shayne Vandivort, seconded by Justin Peterson, to approve the High School business claims and accounts, to include March claims 133925 – 133981, and the approval of the March regular meeting minutes.

Both motions passed unanimously.

HEARING OF THE PUBLIC

None.

INFORMATIONAL

- 1. Building Use Requests
- 2. Nurse's Report
- 3. Water Report
- 4. Resignations:

Megan Logan – Junior Class Advisor Katlyn Cumber – Junior Class Advisor Wrenetta Babcock – Lunch Accountant Jamie Williams – Elementary Teacher

- 5. Missing Children
- 6. Milligan School Data

- 7. Fire and Safety Inspections
- 8. Shepherd Budget Information

ADMINISTRATION

The administrators recapped their reports.

OLD BUSINESS

Wrestling Building Update

No update was provided to the Board.

No action.

NEW BUSINESS

Human Resources

Rehire Recommendations

Classified Employee Rehires – as attached to agenda

Beth Campbell – Kitchen Assistant Cook

Heather Lear - Kitchen Assistant Cook

Amy Paige Atkinson - Kitchen Helper

Barbara Schultz – Custodian

Lorna Brennan – Print Room

District Hiring Recommendations

Cindy Todd – Daycare Director

Amanda Sandquist – Daycare Aide

Amanda Stahl – Head Cook

Robert Trotter – Transportation Director

Kevin Cumber – Maintenance/Grounds

Thomas Sieler – Maintenance

Jeff Armstrong – IT

Allie Walker – Adult Ed Director

McKenna Sealey – Assistant Clerk/Activities Accountant

Athletics

Tenley Miller – High School Cheer Coach

A High School/Joint motion was made by Justin Peterson, seconded by Shane Flowers, to approve the new hires, classified employee rehires, coaches, and district hires for the 2025-2026 school year and the substitute list as presented.

The motion passed unanimously.

Out of District Students

Elementary – See list attached to agenda Middle School – See list attached to agenda High School – See list attached to agenda

An Elementary motion was made by Julie Hinkle, seconded by Shane Rekdal, to approve the out-of-district students for the 2025-2026 school year as attached.

A High School motion was made by Jeff Branson, seconded by Shane Rekdal, to approve the out-of-district students for the 2025-2026 school year as attached.

Both motions passed unanimously.

Milligan School Data – Student Surveys

Mrs. O'Donnell presented the survey results from the student surveys sent out in March.

No action.

Last Day of School May 23

A High School/Joint motion was made by Shane Flowers, seconded by Justin Peterson, to change the last day of school from a full day to an early release at 12:30.

The motion passed unanimously.

Policy 3141F3 and 3141F4 Final Reading

A High School/Joint motion was made by Jeff Branson, seconded by Julie Hinkle, to approve policies 3141F3 and 3141F4 for the first and final reading.

The motion passed unanimously.

2024-2025 Student Handbook Review

An Elementary motion was made by Julie Hinkle, seconded by Shane Rekdal, to approve the Middle School and Elementary student handbooks for the 2025-2026 school year.

The motion passed unanimously.

High School Trustee Election Acclamation

K.V. Aldrich, the County Election Administrator, advised that Justin Peterson has been declared High School Trustee elected by Acclamation.

A High School/Joint motion was made by Shane Flowers, seconded by Julie Hinkle, to accept the letter from the County Election Administrator declaring Justin Peterson elected to the Board by acclamation.

The motion passed unanimously.

STANDING COMMITTEE REPORTS

- Policy Committee The Policy Committee met with MTSBA for the review of the 3000 and 5000 series. The committee will meet again in May.
- Negotiations Committee The Negotiations Committee will meet once the STARS Act has been signed into law.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

None

ANNOUNCEMENTS

None

ADJOURNMENT

Time of adjournment: 7:26pm.